Suzie in the sunshine.

When it’s sunny in Ireland you have to get your bike out. The V-Strom was a joy to ride today.

Weather in the high teens means bike time in Ireland.

Today was a beauty so I decided to take the V-Strom out for a spin. I haven’t being biking lately because I’ve had to take it easy recently after a quick pit-stop in hospital for an oil change and service. It was an over-due bit of maintenance on me, rather than the motorcycle for a change, but I am well on the road to recovery. It’s like when you get new tyres you’ll be told to take it handy until they’re worn in a little bit. In Ireland if you see that yellow thing up in the sky, well then it’s time to get out and about and enjoy it because it could be back to dampness again without too much of a delay. Not to worry, it’ll change again before you get a chance to get accustomed to the new weather situation.

I met up with my brother-in-law, Declan who wanted to knock the cob-webs off his Triumph AmericaIMG_0162, a cool little cruiser, that has been well behaved since a few incidents I described in an earlier post (http://wp.me/p7IHqF-wo). Yes, it’s the same Triumph America that I “push started” more times than I care to remember in France a few years ago. All is forgiven now and Declan and I met up and went out to enjoy the sunshine. 18ºC is a positive heatwave in April in Ireland and it was not to be wasted. Since I’m not fully back to fitness,  and Joan the Weather Lady on the national TV channel had advised of the possibility of sea fog near the coast, we decided to go to one of myIMG_0160 nearest and dearest destinations, the little inland city of Kilkenny. It didn’t disappoint. Thronged with other people out enjoying the sunshine, it is always a pleasure to visit. The castle is a complete gem and definitely not to be missed on a sunny day. Already Kilkenny is bursting at the seams with visitors and tours from overseas. Rather than making it feel overcrowded, it gives Kilkenny that cosmopolitan air to it. It makes you feel you are where it’s all happening, in a relaxed sort of way. People are strolling around enjoying what there is to see or just chilling in the beautiful castle gardens.

One of my favourite spots to visit in Kilkenny is Sullivan’s Brewing Company where they have DSC05369their own beer and their own wood-fired pizzas. Declan and I had a gorgeous pizza each and a pint of their award winning Maltings Red Ale, sitting in the sun-trap that is their beer and pizza garden. That’s the good life for sure. We enjoyed that little piece of heaven, sitting in the sunshine, but reality intrudes and before long it was time to go about our business. We walked up High Street and I showed Declan a motorcycle shop up beside Rothe House in one of the laneways off High Street. Brodericks is run by Enda Carrigan. Enda was busy with a customer so we just checked out his stock of motorcycles and as usual he had a nice selection of bikes to look at. Shortly after that we parted ways and when I got home I was satisfied that I had got a spin on the V-Strom and it was as enjoyable as expected. I have to be fully fit for my big European trip on Suzie in May and it won’t be long now until I have to get all my gear onto the V-Strom for the first time. Maybe a little practice run might help. You’d never know.

 

Author: Motorcycle Rambler

A motorcycle rambler with an interest in motorcycles and motorcycle adventures, food, travel, movies, photography and more.

12 thoughts on “Suzie in the sunshine.”

    1. Luggage won’t be a problem. I actually travel quite light. The panniers come with the bike and the top box is there because it makes herself feel more secure. I am just as happy with a roll strapped with bungee’s across the pillion seat. I might bring camping gear so the hard luggage will take my gear and the tent etc. will be strapped across the back of the seat.

      Like

  1. Hi Suzie, nice to meet you, I don’t seem to bump into many lady bikers in the blogging world so it’s great when one pops up! Me and my hubby are retired, we live in France, in the Dordogne and spend a lot of time enjoying the twisty country roads and great weather here. We both have Ducatis – he has an 848 and I have an old ST3. We have a blog which we started for biker visitors (not a business) which tells you a bit more about the area, but I gather you’ve been biking in France before, so you may know it. This is our site: https://abikersguidetothedordogne.wordpress.com/ We have some wonderful Irish biking friends who live near Cork and Roscoff. If you’re ever down this way we can show you the best places for coffee!

    Like

  2. For me, any day I can ride is a good day and sunshine is always welcome. Looking forward to summer here and getting in some extended rides. I will be in Ireland this June on a whirlwind bus tour. I’ll be on lookout for a V Storm rider on holiday. John S. Gurnee, Illinois, USA

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

