My Cottage in the Woods.

Yesterday I rode the V-Strom from Versailles to Neunkirchen on the West side of Germany in Saarland. It’s not very far South of Luxemburg. There is not much to say about Neunkirchen except that it’s conveniently located, not far some fabulous small historic cities such as Saarlouis and Homberg. Another reason I love it is the beautiful cottage I get to stay in. It’s in a wooded area with lots of forest walks and sports facilities close by. It’s so quiet and idyllic you would never think you were less than a Kilometre from the Autobahn. I stayed last night and visited a great little bar and restaurant Gaststätte Zum Landsknecht, which is a short walk through the forest. The food was top class, thanks to Hans, the owner and Chef. A good friend, Thomas Schmitt joined me later for a drink and to renew our acquaintance. 

I’m staying again tonight because I did some exploring today. One of the most beautiful cities, and the oldest in Germany, is about an hours ride away called Trier which dates back pre Roman times and was home to some celts at one stage. Probably just a bunch of lads on a stag weekend or something 😊. 

It was showery today but when I pulled up in a little square in Böhmerstrasse I  was delighted to see that, purely by accident, I had parked beside “The Irish Pub Trier”. Well it would be bad manners to pass by of course, and I met a very welcoming Dublin man who owns and runs this fine quaint establishment. Alan has been in business here for 20 years and was very helpful with advice and directions. It’s a little gem of a pub    which I called back into after touring the magnificent city of Trier. 

Tomorrow is to be wet but I think it has to be on to the Black Forest area in spite of that. 

Author: Motorcycle Rambler

A motorcycle rambler with an interest in motorcycles and motorcycle adventures, food, travel, movies, photography and more.

11 thoughts on “My Cottage in the Woods.”

Leave a Reply

